PANZA was delighted to receive a donation of 20 poetry titles from the family of the late Marie W. Parker, born 1925, died aged 79.

The donation also included photocopies of original poetry manuscripts by Marie. The family wrote: “The family of the late Marie Weldon Parker are very happy to be able to donate Marie’s treasured collection of NZ poetry books, knowing they can be valued and enjoyed in the years to come.”

Here is one of the Marie’s poems (from her typewritten manuscript):

Marie W. Parker

My Rules

If you want to marry me, here’s what you’ll have to do:
You must learn how to make a perfect chicken-dumpling stew.
And you must sew my holey socks,
And soothe my troubled mind,
And develop the knack for scratching my back,
And keep my shoes spotlessly shined.
And while I rest you must rake up the leaves
And when it is hailing and snowing
You must shovel the walk … and be still when I talk,
And – hey – where are you going?

© Marie W. Parker

PANZA kindly thanks the family for their donation to the archive.

